Skip to content

Seasoned Chicken Fajitas

October 25, 2010

I’ve never been a fajita person because I think they’re usually pretty boring.  It seemed that the chicken or whichever meat was the

chicken fajitas

downfall, because it was just grilled and relied on the toppings to do the work.  I had some shrimp fajitas, in of all places, Wichita, KS that changed my mind because the shrimp was so well seasoned.  I figured to could come up with a simple seasoning of my own, and be happy with the results.  Plus, fajitas are the best quick dinner you can imagine.  Along with some tortillas, guacamole, salsa, sour cream and cheese, you have a super fast, super simple meal.  Add some black beans and you’ve really got a meal.  Serves 4.

Ingredients:

1 t  pure chile powder (such as ancho, not what you buy in the market as chile powder)

1/2 t kosher salt

1/2 t ground cumin

1/2 t onion powder

1/4 t garlic powder

1/4 t smoked paprika or chipotle powder

1 T olive oil

2 large chicken breasts, very finely sliced (put in freezer for 15-20 min. for easier slicing)

1 red or green bell pepper (or both), cut into strips

1 onion, cut into strips (you can bet I did not include that)

8 flour tortillas, fajita sized

Guacamole

Sour cream

Shredded cheese

Salsa

Directions:

In a small bowl, combine seasonings (the first 5 ingredients).  Sprinkle over sliced chicken and toss to coat the chicken.  Heat olive oil in a cast iron pan over high heat (preferred because of how hot it gets) and add peppers and onions, if using.  Sautee for 2 minutes, until they soften a bit.  Add thinly sliced chicken and cook, turning once, until cooked through, about 3-4 minutes, depending on thickness.

Divide chicken filling among tacos and top with toppings.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Haley permalink
    August 3, 2011 2:20 pm

    I think I may be about to leave the highest compliment this blog has ever received. I made these fajitas for my Texan inlaws as my first meal cooked in my new Texan home, and they were met with absolutely rave reviews. I believe “good and spicy” were adjectives used to describe, when words were used at all, in between the sounds of four faces being stuffed with deliciousness. Hooray!!

  2. juicybits permalink*
    August 3, 2011 2:48 pm

    This might be my highest compliment ever! It scares me that you’re making Mexican recipes for Texans…this one gives me hope though! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

