Skip to content

Tomato Jam

September 2, 2010

I loved the idea of tomato jam the first time I saw this post from Homesick Texan.  And with tomato season here, I thought I’d pick up a few.  The original version is sweeter than I made mine, because I really wanted it to go on a savory sandwich, and this seemed more fit for biscuits or some other item that takes well to sweet.  I cut back on the sugar and doubled the tomatoes so it would be a little less intense.  I liked the results because the allspice and cinnamon hit you hard…if you’re wary of that, cut back on those items to just a pinch.  This recipe made about 2 cups of jam for me, and was adapted from Homesick Texan, via an adaptation from The New York Times.

Ingredients:

2 lbs. Roma tomatoes, chopped and cored

2 T sugar

2 T lime juice

2 t lime zest

1/4 t ground cinnamon

1/4 t allspice

1/2 t cumin

1/2 t sea salt

1/2 t ground black pepper

2 dried chiles de arbol, crumbled

Pinch of chipotle powder

Directions:

Combine all the ingredients in a pan, bring to a boil and then simmer, stirring often until tomatoes have dissolved and jam is thick and glossy, about 45 minutes. Pack jam into a sterilized container. Keeps in the refrigerator for 2 weeks or freeze!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

