Skip to content

Mediterranean Tuna Salad Wrap

August 18, 2010

It’s been a sandwich kind of week, which rarely happens around here.  It’s not that I don’t like sandwiches, I

mediterranean tuna salad

just would rather focus my cooking efforts on a new recipe that’s not a sandwich.  But, I needed some quick lunches and dinners for this week, so I went to the store and grabbed some sandwich fixins’ and flatbread and some avocado, cause I’m fancy.  Then I remembered tuna salad recipe Amanda sent me the link for that was a Mediterranean style tuna salad.  I had made a pan bagnat before and really liked it, so I gave this recipe from Whole Foods a go.  It was much, much better than my last minute tuna salad that usually consists of the dregs of the mayo jar and some limp celery.  It’s full of artichokes, olives and herbs, which give it great fresh flavor.  I changed the recipe up a bit- no onion (uh oh, am I developing an onion aversion?), put the red pepper on the wrap and I forgot the lemon, but it was just as good.  Below is my version and you can see the real one here.  This recipe made two large wraps for me.

Ingredients:

2 cans chunk light tuna in water, drained well

10 kalamata olives, roughly chopped

6 artichoke hearts, roughly chopped

1 T chopped Italian parsley

1 T (0r more) chopped fresh basil

3 T lite mayonaise

fresh black pepper

Roasted red pepper strips

Flatbread

Leaf lettuce

Directions:

Combine the tuna through the pepper in a medium bowl and stir to combine.  Layer tuna salad on a flatbread with the lettuce and red pepper, wrap and enjoy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

