Skip to content

Simplest Cole Slaw

August 25, 2009

Sarah went to Maine and Nova Scotia and all you got was this cole slaw recipe.  It’s true.  I ate four lobster rolls last week and didn’t do

cole slaw

cole slaw

any cooking, so I don’t have much new to share with you today.  Some of the lobster rolls I ate came with cole slaw and that inspired me to whip some up last night.  I’ve always loved cole slaw and this is recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen is pretty much the most basic recipe there is- just right to put on top of fish tacos, barbecue pork sandwiches, or a hot dog.  So, I hope my first post in a week  isn’t too disappointing, and I’ll be back soon with something that is.  Makes 4-6 side dish servings.

Ingredients:

1/2 head green cabbage, finely sliced

1/4 head purple cabbage, finely sliced

1 large carrot, peeled and julienne

1/2 c mayonnaise

3 T cider vinegar

2 t sugar

1/2 t salt

1/2 t pepper

1 T celery seeds, optional (as you can see, I didn’t use them because I didn’t have any, but I do love them)

Directions:

In a medium bowl, whisk together mayonnaise, vinegar, sugar, salt, pepper and celery seeds.  Add the cut cabbage and carrots and toss mixture to coat in the dressing.  Let refrigerate 1 hour before serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

