Skip to content

Flying Biscuit Turkey Meatloaf

May 28, 2009

I’ve said I was going to make this recipe for at least 2 years now, and I never seem to get around to it.  I usually think of it being a heavy

flying biscuit turkey meatloaf

flying biscuit turkey meatloaf

winter dish and not really summer food, and then winter is gone before I make it.  I finally made it and I’m glad I did- this is really the best meatloaf recipe I’ve ever had.  It has a lot of flavor from vegetables and all the herbs.  I made some sauteed green beans to go along with it, and Pudge, which is Flying Biscuit mashed potatoes (I’ll post that tomorrow) .  I’d pull out the food processor for this one…there’s a lot of mincing for the vegetables.  Makes 2 meat loaves.

Ingredients:

1 T olive oil

3 celery ribs, minced

1/2 large yellow onion, minced

2 small carrots,  peeled and minced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 1/2 T dried basil

1 1/2 T dried oregano

2 T fresh rosemary, chopped

1 1/2 t black pepper

1 1/2 t kosher salt

1 2/3 c fresh breadcrumbs

2 eggs

1/4 c heavy cream

2 T sun-dried tomatoes, minced (I didn’t use these)

1/2 c Parmesan cheese, grated

3/4 c mozzarella cheese, shredded

1/2 c ketchup

2 lbs. lean ground turkey

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease 2 loaf pans (about 8 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ each).  Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add celery, onion, carrot and garlic to the pan and saute until onions are translucent and carrots have softened, about 7 minutes.  Add herbs, pepper and salt to the vegetables and stir to combine.  Remove from heat and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the vegetables, bread crumbs, eggs, cream, sun dried tomatos, Parmesan, mozzarella ketchup and turkey.  Mix with a spoon or your hands until well incorporated.  Divide mixture among loaf pans and bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes, or until the meatloaf pulls away from the sides of the pan and the internal temperature is 180 degrees.  Let cool slightly, then serve.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    May 28, 2009 10:07 pm

    I got a text from Liza this evening that read “Omg! Please tell Sarah thank you for this amazing dinner! It is so good. :)” I’d say that’s a seal of approval! I’m going to have to try this recipe – I’m getting sick of the meatloaf recipe I’ve been making. Thanks again!

  2. silo permalink
    January 18, 2010 4:26 pm

    Hi, I’m looking for flying biscuit’s former pudge recipe — before they switched it over to a tomato-based dish. I was there recently and was dismayed to find they no longer make it with potatoes & horseradish (and whatever else). Really would love to make this.

    Thanks!
    s.

    • juicybits permalink*
      January 19, 2010 10:01 am

      i did say i’d post that, but apparently forgot. the recipe in my cookbook doesn’t call the horseradish, but if you’d like it add it, stir in spoonfuls until you have the right kick.

      3 lbs red skinned potatoes, not peeled, thinly sliced
      1 1/2 c chicken stock
      1 1/2 t black pepper
      2 garlic cloves, minced
      1/4 c sun dried tomatoes in olive oil
      3 T olive oil
      2/3 c grated Parmesan
      5 large basil leaves, finely chopped
      place potatoes through olive oil in a large dutch oven. bring to a boil and reduce heat until barely simmering. cover and cook until tender, about 20 minutes.

      remove from heat and sprinkle with cheese. mash with potato masher until smooth. stir in basil and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

