Skip to content

Red Curry Chicken Kebabs

April 4, 2009

Add this to your  grocery lists this weekend.  Do it now.  They’re this good.

I made these kebabs, which are essentially Thai meatballs tonight, and they were so good we couldn’t stop eating them.  And better yet, they had so much flavor and not a lot of fat.  I served them with a red curry sauce, rice noodles and stir fried vegetables, so it was kind of like Thai spaghetti and meatballs.  Honestly, they didn’t need the red curry sauce because they were so flavorful, and you could just serve them with stir fried vegetables, and maybe some steamed Jasmine rice if you want to.  I followed the recipe from Junglefrog and grilled these on lemongrass skewers, which was elegant, but I don’t think you need to do it for the flavor.  You could broil them in the oven, or grill them on bamboo skewers as a shortcut.  They serve 4-6.

I’m in Spain this week, but don’t worry, I have another main dish post for you this week and it’s every bit as good at this one, and great for leftovers.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs ground chicken

1-2 T Thai red curry (depending on how much heat you want)

1″ ginger, peeled and finely chopped

4 cloves garlic,  minced

1 T sugar

2 T fish sauce

1/2 c bamboo shoots, minced

1 lime, juiced

1 T cornstarch

1 small handful cilantro, including stems, minced

6 stalks lemongrass

Directions:

Combine ground chicken through cilantro in a medium bowl and chill or freeze until cold.

Trim tops and stem ends off lemongrass.  Peel off outer layers of lemongrass until you reach a thinner center stalk.  Cut lemongrass into 3 or 4″ lengths.  When the meat is cold, shape the meat around the lemongrass with your hands, making it ovoid in shape.  Chill until ready to grill or broil.

Either heat a grill and grill for about 5 minutes on each side, until done, or broil in the oven for 12-15 minutes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    April 28, 2009 9:42 am

    I tried really hard to mess these up. I didn’t have any corn starch. I forgot to put in the bamboo shoots. I was feeling lazy so I made them more patty-sized than meatball-size. And yet they STILL turned out delicious. Yay! I used the Thai Kitchen red curry, which Sarah had warned me was super spicy, so I only used a teaspoon. I also did them under the broiler, and that worked great, and made a yummy sauce of drippings. I highly recommend these!

Leave a Reply

