Skip to content

Peanut Butter Cookies

March 4, 2009

You may have heard from every Atlanta friend on Facebook that it snowed here on Sunday.  It was pretty amazing- about 2-3 inches that actually stuck.  We walked around in the snow most of the afternoon and that led me to a desire to bake cookies.  I planned on trying a new oatmeal raisin cookie recipe that promised to be chewy, but after a walk through the snow and slush to Publix, I got home with raisins and butter but no oatmeal.  No can do.  So, I scoured the internets for cookies I thought I could make with limited ingredients- some sugar, some brown sugar, some peanut butter and no baking powder.  Luckily, I found a recipe that would work from Martha Stewart for peanut butter cookies.  I’m on a sort of quest to find a peanut butter cookie recipe I really like.  The last two I have tried were completely crispy, which just doesn’t do it for me-   I like them really soft in the center.  But, with no other sweet options around, I decided to try the Martha Stewart recipe.  I’m glad I did- they’re soft and chewy in the center and crisp on the edges.   I can’t promise I won’t try another peanut butter cookie recipe in the future- I have Greg’s aunt’s recipe still to try, but this one is good.  This recipe makes 2 dozen cookies.

Ingredients:

1/2 c unsalted butter (1 stick)

3/4 c smooth peanut butter (I threw 1/4 c of crunchy in there)

1/2 c granulated sugar

1/2 c dark brown sugar

1 large egg

1/2 t vanilla extract

1 c all-purpose flour

3/4 t baking soda

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees and line or grease 2 cookie sheets.

In a large bowl, cream butter, peanut butter and both sugars with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla extract and mix until well combined.  Sift together flour and baking soda and add to butter mixture, beating until just combined.

Shape 2 tablespoons of dough into a ball and flatten with your hand on the cookie sheet.  Make cross marks on the cookie with the tines of a fork, if desired.  Bake cookies for 15 minutes (start checking them at 13 minutes), or until lightly browned and just set (if baking both sheets at the same time, rotate the sheets half way through baking).  Remove from oven and let cookies cool on the cookies sheets for 2 minutes (they’re very, very soft when they’re hot and need a couple of minutes to set), then remove to cool on a wire rack.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

