Skip to content

Haley’s World-Famous Chili

November 5, 2008

It’s our first ever guest post!  Last night I hosted an election party and we had Haley’s famous chili.  I really love this recipe and have been lucky to enjoy it many times.  I’m excited to share the recipe with you all, courtesy of Haley.

This is the chili that my mom made my whole life, and was one of the harbingers of cold weather in my family (as much cold weather as we could expect in Southern Louisiana). This chili has won cook-offs, and what’s more, the hearts of many across the states. (FYI: This is a single recipe, but I hardly ever make just one batch. In fact, I hardly ever just make a double. It’s triple or nothing in my house.) Enjoy!!

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef (I often use ground turkey instead for my non-red meat eating friends, and it works wonderfully)
3/4 cup chopped onion
1 garlic clove, minced (I often use more)
2 tablespoons Mexene chili powder seasoning (this is a key ingredient! you can find it at almost any grocery store)
1 tablespoon flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 8 oz can tomato sauce
1 cup water
1 28 oz can whole peeled tomatoes, not drained
1 14 oz can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 14 oz can pinto bean, ground into a paste in the food processor

Directions:

Brown meat, onion and garlic together, and then drain excess fat from the pot. Then simply stir in the remaining ingredients. The pinto beans make a lovely thickener to the chili, but if you feel it needs more liquid, just add more water as it cooks. As you stir the chili, break up the large tomatoes with your spoon. The recipe says it’s “done” in thirty minutes, but everyone knows that chili tastes better the longer it cooks. Turn that fire down to low and let it simmer to its little heart’s content. Enjoy the chili with a healthy handful of cheddar cheese and my personal favorite mix-in, hand crushed Fritos. Delish!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

