Skip to content

Chorizo and Chickpea Stew

October 31, 2008

Sorry it’s been a while since I posted.  I had a few posts scheduled to go out while I was on vacation, but they didn’t deploy for some reason.  Then I was at a conference and didn’t do any cooking to speak of.  But now I’m back, with a healthy and flavorful Spanish-style stew.  I remembered seeing a recipe similar to this a while ago, but couldn’t locate my print out.  So I just made due and winged it.  This would be great served over rice.  Serves 4.

Ingredients:

3 links Spanish chorizo, casing removed and meat cut into chunks

1 T olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

1 t cumin

1 t Pimenton de la Vera (smoked hot Spanish paprika)

2 14 oz cans chickpeas, drained

1 28 oz can chopped tomatoes

1 c chicken stock

1 bunch spinach, rinsed and chopped

1 t sherry vinegar, or white or cider vinegar

Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

Heat oil in a large stock pot over medium heat.  Add chorizo, garlic and onion and cook, stirring, until onion softens but doesn’t brown, abotu 5-7 minutes.  Add cumin and paprika and stir to incorprate, about 30 sec.  Add chickpeas, tomatoes and stock, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes.  Add spinach and cook for another 5 minutes, until spianch is wilted.  Stir in vinegar.  Add salt and pepper as needed and serve.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:53 am

    I made a double batch of this soup for dinner last night and it was delicious! I feel like it would be impossible to mess up. I just bought the chorizo at Publix, which it turns out is already cooked, so I couldn’t really get it out of the casing. I just chopped it up really small and it was still great! Next time though I’ll try and get the good stuff from the Farmer’s Market. I also don’t normally love chickpeas, but I was surprised by how yummy and tender these became. I’ll definitley be making this again!

Leave a Reply

